College Day Celebrations 2016

The Manipal College of Dental Sciences, Mangalore held its annual college day & awards ceremony on 11th of March 2017. Chief Guest Dr H Vinod Bhat, Vice Chancellor, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Dr V Surendra Shetty, Pro- Vice Chancellor, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Mangalore Campus and Dr Narayan Sabhahit, Registrar, Manipal Academy of Higher Education presided over the function.

March 14, 2017

Dr Dilip G Naik, Dean, MCODS, Mangalore presented the annual college report highlighting the achievements of the dental college which was ranked among the top five private colleges in India by several ranking agencies. The consistent performance of the college was appreciated by the dignitaries especially in the field of research and innovation.   

Dr H Vinod Bhat, in his rousing address, inspired the graduating students through the life events of late Dr TMA Pai, founder Manipal Academy of Higher Education. Dr TMA Pai believed that eliminating poverty, illiteracy and ill-health is pertinent for a flourishing society. This has been the founding principal of Manipal group of institutes. This vision has been carried forward by Dr Ramdas M Pai, Chancellor Manipal Academy of Higher Education, under whose leadership the university has attained international recognition and fame.  Dr Vinod Bhat urged the students to envision their future goals and to pursue it with dedication, commitment and perseverance.  He stressed the importance of ceaseless learning in the medical profession and encouraged the students to pursue excellence in the field of research and innovation. He hoped that the novel graduates would achieve success in all their future endeavors and would return as proud alumni to their Alma Mater .

Dr V Surendra Shetty released the third issue of the college newsletter ‘Communiquè’ and in his address motivated the students to purse higher education and highlighted the scope of clinical practice in urban and rural India. Dr Narayan Sabhahit spoke about importance of time management and setting the right priorities for successful careers. He expressed his confidence in the graduates to uphold the traditions of MCODS, Mangalore by excelling in the upcoming post graduate entrance test and wished them luck.

The Silver Jubilee Alumni Gold Medal for the highest marks scored in Final B.D.S. for the year 2016 was awarded to Dr Madhura Sen. Dr Mohd Shafiq Bin Shaffa’ee was declared the Best Outgoing Student. The certificate of PRASIE (Publication and Research Award Incentive for Students to Excel) was received by Dr Vignesh P. Good teacher award was bagged by Dr Ashwin Rao and Dr Manuel Thomas. Dr TMA Pai Gold medal for the Best Research Publication was awarded to Drs. Dabawala Suhel Abdul Gafar, Suprabha B S, Arathi Rao, Srikant N and Ravikiran Ongole.

Miss. Tanya Sawhney, Miss. Ansu Ann Abraham, Drs. Hussain Lokhandwala, Shreya Shruti Shah, Keerthana Kunaparaju, Gayathri Rajeev and Ajith Kamath were awarded the ICMR (Indian Council of Medical Research) certificate of appreciation for the completion of their ‘Short term Studentship’ research projects. The outgoing batch was declared the overall winners of the Cultural and Sports competitions for the year 2016.

Lastly the graduates, Drs. Devika Mahendra and Mohd Shafiq Bin Shaffa’ee raised a toast to the institution which was a sentimental and humorous recount of the fond memories of the graduating batch and expressed their immense gratitude towards their parents and the faculty of MCODS, Mangalore for their relentless support in the 5- year long journey.