Manipal Unit of UNESCO Chair in Bioethics

The Manipal unit of the International Network of the UNESCO Chair in Bioethics (Haifa) at Kasturba Medical College, Manipal was established on 29th November  2013.


The mission of the Bioethics Unit in KMC, Manipal, Manipal Academy of Higher Education is to:
(i) Introduce structured Medical, Dental & Allied Health Bioethics curriculum
(ii) Sensitize all health professionals to bioethical principles and values and incorporate them into daily practice
(iii) Education and training in the field of Bioethics
(iv) Research

Steering Committee
Dr. G Pradeep Kumar Patron, Dean, KMC, Manipal
Dr. Mary Mathew Chair, Professor, Pathology
Dr. Vikram Pallimar Secretary, Professor & HOD, Forensic Medicine


1. Dr. Nandini Kumar Adjunct Professor, Hospital Administration
2. Dr. Joseph Thomas Professor, Urology
3. Dr. Stanley Mathew Professor, Surgery
4. Dr. Pratap Kumar Professor, Obstetrics & Gynaecology
5. Dr. Monica Solomon Professor & Head, Oral Pathology
6. Dr. Anice George Dean, Nursing College
7. Dr. Sunder Sarukkai Professor, Manipal Centre for Philosophy & Humanities
8. Dr. (Col) M Dayananda Medical Superintendent, Kasturba Hospital
9. Dr. Russell D’Souza Adjunct Professor, Forensic Medicine
10. Dr. Suma Nair Associate Professor, Community Medicine
11. Dr. Sudhakar Nayak Associate Dean, Manipal
12. Dr. Swati Sharma Associate Professor, Pathology
13. Mr. Ramesh Hegde Legal Expert