Faculty Achievements

KMC Manipal faculty members win numerous awards and honours every year for their progressive research and contribution to the medical sciences.

 A few recent achievements:


Dr. Guruprasad Kalthur, Clinical Embryology at Kasturba Medical College and Hospital, Manipal was selected for the Award for Research Publication (ARP) for 2012-13 by the Vision Group on Science and Technology (VGST), Department of IT, BT, Science and Technology, Government of Karnataka, for his recent publication in an international journal. Dr. Kalthur has been working in the area of clinical embryology and his research interests include cryobiology of gametes and reproductive toxicology.


  • Dr. Raghavendra Rao, Department of Dermatology, was awarded a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship 2011 by the Academy of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) and British Council, United Kingdom.
  • Dr. Pramod Kumar, Department of Plastic Surgery, was conferred the Safdarjung NABI Professorship Award by the National Academy of Burns, India, for his recent research work in burn care.
  • Dr. Pratap Kumar was awarded the National Dr. Kutty Lifetime Achievement Award by the Federation of Obstetric and Gynaecological Societies of India (FOGSI).