Roentgen week celebrations-2017

November 18, 2017

Roentgen week celebrations

8th November is a Red Letter day for all radiologists as it is the day when Sir Willhelm Conrad Roentgen made the serendipitous discovery of X-rays. Department of Oral Medicine and Radiology conducted a series of exciting competitions to mark this marvellous discovery that heralded an era of improved diagnosis and patient care and aptly called it Roentgen week celebrations.

This week-long  celebrations commenced with Dean Dr. Keerthilatha M Pai, Associate deans Dr. Subraya Bhat and Dr. Aparna IN and Dr. Vineetha R Head of the Department, Department of Oral Medicine and Radiology lighting the lamp and paying floral tributes to the great scientist Dr. W C Roentgen. 

An Essay competition was conducted on 13th November on the topic ‘Radiology-Past to Present’. Our budding dentists turned into eloquent writers covering the childhood of Roentgen to the latest advancements in radiology. This was followed by e Poster competition on 13th November. Our talented students confidently presented their e posters on a myriad of Topics like Fusion Imaging, Thermography, Forensic Radiology, RVG etc   before our eminent judges-Dr. Prakashini K, Professor, Department of Radiodiagnosis, KMC Manipal and Dr. Keerthilatha M Pai, Dean MCODS.    Due to the overwhelming response to quiz competition, a preliminary round was conducted on 14th November and top five teams were selected for the final Quiz held on 15th November.  The Dean awarded the deserving winners with certificates of appreciation during the Valedictory function.  

Prize winners

Essay competition

1st place- Ms. Neharika Kapur

2nd place- Ms. Lochan Khullar

3rd place- Ms. Shareen Asif


1st place- Ms. Neharika Kapur and Ms.Vibha Thakral

2nd place- Mr. Shreyans Dhanuka

Quiz competition

1st place- Ms.Lee Hawee Shan, Ms.Cheong Li Chen and Ms. Ng Hui Hui

2nd place- Ms. Shreya Manocha, Mr. Ridyumna Garain and Mr. Prabhjeet Singh

3rd place- Ms. Neharika Kapur and Ms.Vibha Thakral and Ms. Arpita Singh