Report on Genesis 2022-‘23

September 14, 2022


The highly anticipated Annual Student Council Inaugural event of MAHE Association Pharmacy Students (MAPS), GENESIS – 2022-23, took place at TMA Pai Halls, MAHE, Manipal, on 14th September 2022. Deputy Registrar-Academics (Health Sciences), MAHE, Manipal & Professor/Coordinator, Division of Biochemistry, Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Dr Guruprasad Rao was the Chief Guest for the event.

The program began with the lighting of the lamp by the Chief guest Dr Guruprasad Rao, Principal Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao, Vice-principal Dr Krishnamurthy Bhat and Secretary-MAPS Dr Jayesh Mudgal. A soothing invocation song followed this by Parvathy Madhu of I-PharmD, who left the crowd mesmerized.

The chief guest then enlightened us on the importance of student council. He quoted in his speech that a true leader takes a little more than his share of the blame and a little less than his share of the credit. He then presented the newly elected student council with their badges and certificates, instilling a sense of duty in them. The student council for 2022-23 comprises President Abhijay Ahuja, Vice President Akanksha, and General Secretary Shradanjali Ghosh.

The academic council is led by Secretary Shruti Chaudhary and Joint Secretaries Jayshree V and John Patani. The president of the Innovative Communication Club is Ajinkya Nikam. The sports council is led by Secretary Ayushi Datta and Joint secretaries Mangesh Kumar and Shreya Gantayet. The Chief Editor for the year is Aarthika Srinivasan. Under the editorial board, the photography club is headed by Clive Winston D'Souza, and deputy heads Akhil and Rajeswari Subramanian. Secretary Saad Khan and Joint Secretary Vani Nayak manage the Community development Committee. The student exchange committee is led by Secretary Akhil and Joint Secretary Stuti Khatuka. Finally, the Cultural Council is headed by Secretary Anshuman Shettigar with Joint secretaries Madhuja Sen and Mandar B Rao.

After assigning the positions to the core council members, Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao, Principal, MCOPS gave wise inputs and encouraged the student body to come back bigger and stronger after the 2-year long break caused by the advent of Covid 19. Following this, Dr. Krishnamurthy Bhat, Vice-principal, shed light on the importance of balancing academics and extracurricular.

Finally, the Student Council President, Abhijay Ahuja, promised to inspire the student community till every bit of our potential is used. He gave an insight into his plans as the president.

General Secretary explained each council's importance, role, and vision. The formal event finally ended with Vice President Akanksha's speech, who proposed the vote of thanks. Masters of ceremony for the event were Rishi Bhat and Aleena Ann Jose.

The informal event comprised multiple performances ranging from singing to dancing and drama. Dance performances were enthralling, and singing performances left the audience mesmerized. The skit was hilarious and had everyone in stitches. By the end of the 4th year's dance, to wrap it all up in half, the audience joined the stage to celebrate, and finally, the event ended with everyone dancing in celebration.